A Joyously Silent Thursday Evening

Standard

For a split second, I think about calling S. to see what he is up to and then I remember that he more than likely will have his phone turned off, the feeling of disappointment I would feel if he had it turned off, the reason I called it quits with him: his lack of availability.

It’s quiet tonight. Tonight was one of those rare occasions in which I didn’t plan to do anything with my night! I got off work, did some packing up of the summer school classroom (last day tomorrow) to move back to my regular school year classroom, and drove about photographing¬†the cloudscapes of the approaching thunder storm over the desert landscapes and onion fields. I got home around 3 and heated up leftover steak, rice and veggies for my lunch/ dinner in the microwave. I had a giant peach and a dark chocolate Klondike bar as well. I smiled at the luxury of the meal and then settled in for a long nap on the couch until shortly after 6PM. I spent a couple of hours cropping my photos I shot during the day and then opened the doors and windows of the house. The sunset was one of those spectacular pink glows after a cloudy day. I decided to sit and write / type about such a perfect evening while listening to the music coming from a neighbor’s garage, the occasional child and dog walking by outside and the ticking of the living room clock. The music from the garage has been turned off now and the outside world has darkened, the trees melting into the warm twilight.

For me, peace is a night of doing nothing in solitude with the summer breeze blowing through the door, the rare dry smell of rain and sounds of summer. What is peace to you?

IMG_0551

2 responses »

  1. well, that sounds like peace to me. last night (thursday) the early evening rewarded me with a full moon rising. this morning (friday) i again saw the moon as it was dropping behind the “mtns” to the west. yes, i took a couple of photos with my phone. tonight, the sky was pink, red and blue/black. i was surrounded in that color

Leave a Reply

