Wheel of Life

Standard

Monetary success is not success. Career success is not success. Life, someone that loves you, giving to others, doing something that makes you feel complete and full. That is success. And it isn’t dependent on anyone else. – James Avery

It’s another long weekend which means time to blog!!!!!!!!! 🙂

pooh smallest things

My latest link to share: You Won’t Find Your Calling in Ego-Based Learning

The premise: The best learning isn’t the required content of school or what we study for career success. The deepest learning comes from the learning with intrinsic value… Something I believe I don’t put enough time into because pursuing career and monetary success comes much easier to me.

Things that remind me of impermanence lately:

  • The announcement that my principal is moving on to greener pastures. I will be forever grateful for what he did to create a happy work environment! We are all worried of possible impending changes…
  • My sister’s boss became Fire Department Chief only to pass away a week later! Goes to show you that career success means so little.
  • My BFF’s oldest turned 3 last Tuesday and we had a big birthday party for her on Saturday. Time changes everything.

Somehow, we have to make time for the things that have intrinsic value to us… What do you do to make time for those worthwhile parts of your life outside of everyday work? Does setting boundaries between Work Life and Outside of Work Life come easily to you?

lucky pooh

 

7 responses »

    • I usually sign onto WordPress on my laptop and did it from my phone today… Was experimenting with what the icons on the phone meant! Lol! Sorry! I remain a faithful follower!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  1. I leave work at the door. I can balance between the two, but balance the time off is not always the way I would like. but then it takes both sides to want to do things together and that is were the balance is not balanced.

    • I wish I knew how to leave work at the door or to leave work when I am off! Balance time off? Both sides? I guess I am not familiar with such problems at the moment…

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. I love the quote you used from James Avery and the Winnie the Pooh one. They are so true!
    Since I work everyday from 3:30-8:30 (9), I sleep in and relax in the morning. On that note, it is very hard to schedule time with my friends and family since I work 5 days a week expect Thursday and Sunday. Yes, I do work on Saturday mornings. 😦
    It is also very hard to balance work, boyfriend time, family time, and me time. i don’t know how people do it without going crazy. I mean, I am a very organised person but still can’t balance everything. 😦

Leave a Reply

